Posted by: aronmwrites | November 6, 2008

Nazi Comparisons: They’re at It Again

The anti-LGBT organizations just can’t help themselves, can they?

Screen grab of Sonja and her crazy talk.

Screen grab of Sonja and her crazy talk.

On the heels of the passage of constitutional marriage bans for queer couples in California, Florida and Arizona on Nov. 4, the American Family Association and Americans for Truth About Homosexuality are already back to spouting their usual slanderous and extremist comparisons between Nazis and gays today. 

Ever so politely, Focus on the Family, the American Family Association, the Campaign for Families and Children, Americans for Truth About Homosexuality – and many others – managed to keep a lid on the crazy talk during the election season. Why sound like derranged, bigoted lunatics when you can sound reasonable with lies like “8 is note hate” and “we hope gays and lesbians don’t think Prop. 8 supporters are anti-gay.”  Yes on 8’s Sonja Eddings-Brown (K-CBS 2, Interview Nov. 4 on L.A. affiliate) is a great example.  According to our dear friend Sonja, Prop 8:

“. . . doesn’t mean that gay couples cannot have children or families or the rights of marriage, it just means that when it comes time to champion something in the law, we really have an obligation to champion the rights of children.”

Oh, really, Sonja?  The same rights of marriage?  How does that work?  You mean if I go to the hospital to visit my partner and wave my little domestic partnership certificate around, they’ll suddenly let me in with happy equality-minded smiles?  I don’t think so.  You think I won’t have to call AAA (American Automobile Association) to convince them to give my partner a “spouse member card” after they’ve declined us because we’re not a Real Married CoupleTM?  Oh, ok.  I see exactly what you mean.    

Back to the Nazi talk. 

Now that the stakes aren’t high and no one’s watching, AFA and Americans for Truth About Homosexuality scurried right on back to their usual outlandish commentary.  Apparently a kindergarten teacher in California dared to using ‘pledge cards’ provided by the Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN) to help encourage her students to not use anti-LGBT slurs.  Here’s what Peter LaBarbera, the president of Americans for Truth About Homosexuality, had to say in the release from AFA:

“This is just bizarre, and it shows how the teachers with their radical sexual agenda want to start early to reprogram these kids’ minds. They want to undermine the faith teachings that the kids have at home; this is part of a plan. To me, this is like Hitler with Nazi Germany and the Soviets wanting to get to the youth and change the kids by getting to them at a very young age.” 

(I’m not linking to it because I refuse to drive traffic to their site.) 

They also believe this is an instance of the revealing of the “real homosexual agenda” and question why these cards would be used as early as kindergarten.  

I have a little story for them.  It’s pretty short.  In first grade, I hugged a friend of the same biological sex on the playground at the end of the day before leaving school.  Her family kissed people on the cheek when saying goodbye – one of those quick European kiss, kiss things that I’m always a little awkward about.  Guess what one of my fellow first graders called me?  A dyke.  If I remember right, it was shouted, actually.

That’s why they use the pledge cards.  I had no idea then that what the student said was true on the playground that day (well, true in part).  I didn’t know I would grow up to be a big queer.  But why should I have had to find out for the first time what “dyke” meant when it was hurled in my face by a classmate? 

In answer to LaBarbera’s claim that this reveals the “real homosexual agenda,” I want to make an assertion of my own.  Now that the election is over – and everyone that voted against the queers can pat themselves on the back and say they did the “good and right” thing for the children (“how dare you call me anti-gay!” they self-righteously proclaim) – we should look at what all of these organizations that were so supportive of these amendments “for the children” have to say about the LGBT community.  Are they still talking about respect for the “gay and lesbian community” with differing “opinions” on how children should be involved?  Or are they back to the crazy talk, comparing teaching kids to be nice to one another to the Homosexual Agenda – and gays to Nazis? 

I think you know the answer.

Seed Newsvine

Leave a Reply

Categories

